• Personally speaking….

    Finals are done. School is done. Blogs are getting dusted off. I hope to post at least once a week about some of the things that matter to me -- a young vegetarian woman in Virginia.
  • Previously spoken….

    June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Visually taken....

    How to get to Amici's from the hotel

    My first food truck experience.

    Carmelized onion, eggplant, tofu and pasta

    Flowers!

    Free :) Take one

    Flowers!

    More Photos
  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Goals that score

DSCN2415 We all have goals. I have goals. I have no time to think about them between the rush of work, school and life. I have so many that I have lost track of them. When I find my tattered lists here and there when cleaning, I think, “Oh yeah. So. That goal. Man, that’s a great goal. I’m nowhere nearer to that goal now than when I wrote it 5 years ago.” Then there’s that wash of disappointment. Feeling me? Right.

What to do!

According to all the Einsteins of the task management world, there are certain things we must do to get that goal good. Well, better than what I’ve done before, obviously.

One way is the SMART way. Told you that Einstein was involved.

  • Specific. Using the question words of journalism might help: who, what, where, why, when, how.
  • Measurable. How else can I check it off if there’s no unit of measurement?
  • Attainable. Can I even do it? It should be broken down into things I can accomplish to spur me on.
  • Realistic. I’m not going to build a skyscraper by myself. I can change one thing though. That’s not so scary with everything else going on, right?
  • Timely.
    My memory bank says that 3-4 weeks is the amount of time it takes a habit to stick. 30 days (some months). That’s not long, right? Forever to me. But in the grand scheme of things, it’s a nugget of time. 30 days.

I have so many options for goals. Let’s narrow it down to “greening.” I still use plastic bags at the grocery store. I still use plastic bags to put my vegetables in at the grocery store. I am better about checking the air in my tires. I’ve bought items on sale at the store and packaged them up for the freezer (this helps by giving me more money for buying organic and locally). I buy my breakfast and lunch at work and get them in non-reusable to-go containers. Did I hear a gasp? Yes. I do. Horrible, I know. Oh!

June’s Goal
I will bring my own breakfast in a reusable container or eat breakfast at home 4 out of 5 days of the week. I will bring my own lunch in a reusable container 1 out of 5 days of the week. I will accomplish both of these by planning ahead. I can cook up a large batch of oatmeal and section it out the night before. I can bring in cinnamon for sprinkling after I warm it in the microwave. I will plan ahead when cooking dinner and make up a container of food for lunch. I will bring with these meals silverware that will be taken home with the containers and washed.

Sound good? Very long. But it’s very specific, attainable, realistic, and timely. I know it’ll be easier to do oatmeal at breakfast and that would save lots of trash (and maybe money). The lunch will be a bit more difficult and that’s why I set it to one day a week for now. More is great. Less is not acceptable. Whip snap.

4 Responses

  1. Yes – sounds good! You’re on your way with achievable steps. On the bag item . . . let me get this up front: I am not being paid for this endorsement. I love the bags by papernorplastic.com. They are stout and sturdy and have saved me from accepting many wasteful plastic bags.

    It is challenging when I pick up a handful of sugar snap peas and toss them into the cart. Please let us all know if you solve this one.

  2. I’ll check them out. Thanks for the recommendation :) I’ve only seen one person bring her own bags to the local grocery store. There wasn’t a lot of huffing and grumbling but it was the manager playing cashier.

    I’ve seen some mesh/cloth reusable bags for produce. I’m not sure if that’s what you mean. I haven’t tried them yet but that’s on my loooOOooong list of things to do to be a mo’ bettah Earthlin’. :)

  3. I received my first mesh bag as a gift from a forward-thinking Earthlin’ in the old days (circa 1990). She was one hip consumer.

  4. [...] I need better 3:00 snacks. I have tried the Vitatops before and they were good. Guess I should try those again, eh? Also, only two more days left that I can fulfill my goal this week of bringing lunch from home one day a week. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

