• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    April 2008
    S M T W T F S
        May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Visually taken....

    How to get to Amici's from the hotel

    My first food truck experience.

    Carmelized onion, eggplant, tofu and pasta

    Flowers!

    Free :) Take one

    Flowers!

    More Photos
  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Time to panic? Food Shortage

Food prices have risen 40 percent on average since mid-2007, and have led to riots in the Caribbean, Africa and Asia. – Seattle PI

image by litherland on flickr

image courtesy litherland

Seriously? I know it’s gone up but 40% in a year?

The price of rice has more than doubled in the past five weeks, she said. The World Bank estimates food prices have risen by 83 percent in three years. – Seattle PI

Rice. The article goes on to talk about the staples being snatched up like bread when the news talks about snow around here. (For those not around here, snow is maybe max of an inch. We are not New York. We just panic a wee bit.) Alright, fine, I’ll go with an increase in food prices. I’ve seen it though didn’t document it. I’ve only been doing that price sheet for a little while now. But if people buy lots of rice and flour and oil, what’s that do? Rice and flour goes bad after a while. I’m surprised there’s not a huge shortage of canned goods. That, I thought, lasts longer than rice. Maybe if the rice were sealed in smaller containers? It would make storage easier. Just. Odd.

But if there is a shortage coming on flour, rice and oil, then I should be fine here. I don’t cook rice that often. Flour is the Devil. And the oil I most prefer is olive oil. If I didn’t have that, then I would be a sad panda but I know oil will go rancid. I’m only cooking for one or two. I won’t use it quickly enough to do a run on Costco. I do not like the idea of those in poverty being even worse off. If staples are going to be too expensive to buy then what about silly things like vitamins or vegetables? Sigh.

This does poke the part of my brain that’s been churning the “I need to try a garden again” idea. I even saw in a recent article by the local paper about container fruit trees. My backyard isn’t ready for permanent trees yet. It still needs a new storage building and fencing.

3 Responses

  1. A garden is perhaps one of the most rewarding adventures you’ll ever embark on. Time spent in the garden is never time wasted. You can also see your progress immediately. How many times in life can we not only see exactly where we’ve been but we get to enjoy the fruits of or labors? (pun intended)

    I’m eager to read more about your gardening plans!

    Blessings to you!

    Lacy

  2. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to grasp so much approximately this, such as you wrote the ebook in it or something. I think that you simply can do with some% to force the massage house a bit, however other than that this is magnificent blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  3. Thank you for every other wonderful post. The place else may
    anybody get that kind of information in such a perfect approach of
    writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am at the search for
    such info.

Leave a Reply

