• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    May 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Visually taken....

  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

In-famous Taco Salad

What does that mean? “In-famous”?

In-famous is when you’re more than famous.

Three Amigos

When I first made this Taco Salad years ago, I was chatting with a friend online. I mentioned what I was making and he asked if I use French or Catalina dressing. What! French dressing? Catalina? Seriously?

No. No salad dressing or at least none found in the salad dressing section of the supermarket. The dressing I use is “Pace Picante Sauce.”

Taco Salad

Dinner: May 18, 2008

  • I usually make this salad when I have leftover taco meat. The ratio is mostly (90%?) romaine lettuce — romaine is much better than iceberg — and then a little microwave-nuked taco seasoned meat piled in the middle. I sprinkle a little shredded cheese on that, and then sprinkle some onions and diced tomato (if I feel like it). On top of that, I pour some Picante sauce. Nom! The best part is gathering up each part on the fork to make the perfect bite. Since I make this with extremely lean meat, and not much of it, and the rest are “freebies” except for a little cheese, this is pretty healthy. It’s also wicked fast if you have the leftover bits.
Leave a Reply

