• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    May 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Visually taken....

  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Dilemma: Buying locally vs Having money

Yorktown Market I, like many others, have a dilemma when it comes to buying locally. I want to buy locally. I prefer the taste. I prefer the idea of it. I, however, don’t prefer the cost in both price tag and gas to get there. What to do!

I check the grocery store sales to save there in order to splurge on locally grown foods. Lately, when I travel up to farmers’ markets to find no produce or produce that makes me feel like they purchased to sell it. This weekend, however, the market about 30 minutes away is promising produce.

All these thoughts keep leading me back to one solution: grow it myself. But, even that, is expensive. The soil isn’t expensive and neither are the plants. My time, however, is very expensive! I also don’t like to work outside when it’s over 90 degrees outside. My neighbor has a large garden. He’s also retired. I have no “free” time when I factor in both job and school work loads. Not to mention all the normal necessities like cleaning, cooking, and sleep.

How does one do it? Should I spend 30+ minutes on the road weekly to get to the best (that I’ve seen) farmers’ market to buy a few vegetables for one or two people? Gas is getting near $4 here. I nearly fainted yesterday when I filled my car up. I’d start to have heart problems if I had to gas up more than twice a month.

Dilemma. Yep. Big ol’ dilemma. Advice welcome.

7 Responses

  1. J . . . I don’t have all the answers but I do have a friend who lets me give her my shopping wish list when she’s on the road. She’s already making that “30+ minute” road trip for other business. One car makes the trip. Two to four families eat the food.

  2. I had a stroke filling up our car this week as well. I have no advice on the local produce dilemma…we’re really lucky in Maine, our grocery store hosts a farmers market with fresh local produce every weekend, and they are usually much cheaper than buying them in the store.

    Happy Memorial Day!

  3. Thanks for your comment on my blog. In answer to your question, I am currently off my diet simply because I am 7 months pg. I am going to start on a diet of Vegetarian Low Carb once I have the baby. I always feel so much healthier when i am vegetarian (I have stomach issues and being vegetarian helps) and I have ordered a great book by Rose Elliot on how to do a veg low car b in a healthy way.

  4. @Mary Ann: Thank you for the idea. I’ve been asking around at work and through friends to see who else would be interesting in farmers’ markets. I found someone that plants a garden so maybe I’ll grow what she’s not growing and we’ll do an exchange! πŸ™‚

    @Amanda: Very lucky indeed. I went looking for a grocery store that might host local farmers and the closest I came is a local health food store. I’ll check back and see if they host some this year and see what they have.

    @Twisted: Congratulations! I haven’t read that book yet but will look on your site to see if you post any recipes/reviews about it.

  5. My suggestion would be to at least go to the farmers market you like 1/2 as much as you regularly would. Then it will only cost 1/2 as much! πŸ™‚

  6. Good point. I haven’t been able to get to any because of my school load but can start up again after this weekend! That’s when one class ends so that I’ll have my weekends back.

  7. I am cheerful to see this you tube video at this web site, so right now I am also going to add all my video clips at YouTube web site.

Leave a Reply

