• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Visually taken....

  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Failing to plan is planning to fail

Courtesy Redfox Image courtesy Redfox

So true. So true. I meant to cook up some oatmeal last night and put it into containers. Instead, I didn’t get home till around 7:30 p.m. I heated up some dinner (leftover loaf of meat, leftover brown rice, leftover squash bits) and reread my class reading assignment. It was a lot of reading. I then was in class (it’s online but live) till around 10:00 p.m. By the time I finished doing the things I needed to do for school and such, it was “OMG I better get into a bed before I pass out.”

This morning, I had oatmeal from the cafeteria. Sprinkle of Splenda. Heavy handed dashes of cinnamon. It’s pretty good. Again, very easy to make at home and bring in. Or even microwave at work.

2 Responses

  1. I too love oatmeal in the morning. Whenever I cook it I triple the batch so I just reheat as needed. It is not quite as good as fresh, but still yummy with yogurt, fruit..Do the same when cooking chicken – make extra so it is in the fridge and ready to go when you come in from class. Always make extra brown rice, pasta – easy to heat in microwave as well. Toast raw nut s(almonds are packed with omega 3’s!) in the oven and then measure out 8 and put in snack bags to go. Great afternoon snack with a piece of fruit. Hope I am not boring you!

  2. Good idea. I try to do the cook extra when it comes to rice. That heats up beautifully and I love a random Chinese clean-out-the-fridge fried rice. Hm. I’ve heard if you toast nuts that it makes the flavor stand out more so you can get by with fewer nuts but with the same amount flavor in a dish.

    This morning, I have oatmeal. I’m going to go try it now in our fridge at work. *crosses fingers* 🙂

    And, no, never boring! I love learning tips. Thank you so much for reading and posting! I love nuts and they can be such the trigger. Portioning out ahead would help!

Leave a Reply

