• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Visually taken....

    How to get to Amici's from the hotel

    My first food truck experience.

    Carmelized onion, eggplant, tofu and pasta

    Flowers!

    Free :) Take one

    Flowers!

    More Photos
  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

I put a cup of oatmeal in a glass bowl the night before and added 1.5 cups water to it. Covered with plastic and took it in the next morning. Nuked it for 2 minutes. Wasn’t enough. I should try it with more water and longer cooking time. I wanted to get some good stuff from the cafeteria so badly. But at least I brought it in!

Lunch made me think of a Bento box. Recently, I ordered a laptop lunch after eyeballing it for a long time, ever since I bought Vegan Lunch Box. Can’t wait for it to come in so I can try this comboing stuff again. Course, if I don’t even have time to make oatmeal ahead, what are my chances of packing my lunch in a cute Bento-like box? Hey, I’m an optimist!

I need better 3:00 snacks. I have tried the Vitatops before and they were good. Guess I should try those again, eh? Also, only two more days left that I can fulfill my goal this week of bringing lunch from home one day a week.

Those hot cocoas are killing me. Do I throw the canister away and get sugar-free/fat-free version or finish off the canister?
Oatmeal

Breakfast (9:00 a.m.)
Multi-Vitamin: 0
Milk, Skim, 1 pint: 3.5
Oatmeal, choked down 1 cup, cinnamon/Splenda: 2
Diet Mountain Dew, 1 can: 0

Salad and cottage cheese and oranges

Lunch (12:30 p.m.)
Diet Dr. Pepper, 20 oz.: 0
Spinach, Spring Salad Mix, 1.5 cup?: 0
Black Olives, 1 Tbl?: 1
Cucumber, 4 slices: 0
Celery, 1 teaspoon: 0
Balsamic Vinegar, 2 splashes: 0
Tomato, 1/2?: 0
Cottage cheese, 1 cup?: 3
Orange sections, 1/2 orange?: 1

Snack
KitKat: 5 (3pm)
Water, 48 oz: 0 (3-6pm)
M&Ms, 49.3g: 6 (5pm)

Homemade tomato soup and grilled cheese

Dinner
Homemade tomato soup*: .5
Whole-wheat bread, 2 slices: 2
Cheese, 2%, 2 slices: 1

Snack
Hot cocoa, cup, 2: 8

*Recipes:

Tomato Soup was made on the fly with 1 giagando can of crushed tomatoes, 1 small can of tomato sauce, 3 teaspoons minced garlic, liberal sprinkling of Mrs Dash Garlic, lotsa sprinkles of dried parsley and oregano, and 2 teaspoons of brown sugar to take the edge off. I then did a dash of ground nutmeg. Added quite a few turns of the pepper grinder. For presentation, added another sprinkle of parsley flakes.

2 Responses

  1. Hey – found your blog since you commented on mine (thanks, by the way!) Looking forward to reading – you are definitely a skilled photographer 🙂

  2. Jenn, thank you for commenting and the complement 🙂 I really like your photoblog style of documenting food eaten. You’re much better at consistency than I and are inspirational!

Leave a Reply

