• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Visually taken....

    How to get to Amici's from the hotel

    My first food truck experience.

    Carmelized onion, eggplant, tofu and pasta

    Flowers!

    Free :) Take one

    Flowers!

    More Photos
  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Steel-cut Saturday

Today, since I had all morning and wanted to procrastinate my studying, I tried some steel-cut oats. Boy, did that take forever to cook! And the bottom of the pan was scrubtastic. Worth it? Not sure. I have half of the pan leftover in the fridge.

Steel cut oatmeal
Breakfast – 10ish

  • Steel-cut oatmeal, 1 cup: 4
    Interesting. WW.com says oatmeal is 2 points per cup. On container, it looks like 4 a cup.
  • Honey, 3-string drizzle: .5
    I miss my local honey desperately!
  • ICBINB, light, dollop: .5
    From the tub.
  • Milk, skim, 1.5 cup: 2.5

Taco, lima beans and corn
Lunch
Diet Mountain Dew, 1 can: 0
Tortilla, low-fat: 2
Ground turkey with taco seasoning, 1/2 cup: 4?
Cheese stick, low-fat: 2
Picante sauce, liberal pour: 0
Corn, 1/2 cup?: 1
Lima beans, 1/2 cup?: 1
Lima beans have a little taco meat in them because I microwaved the two together in a non-plastic bowl

Lasagna! Nom!
Dinner
Leftover lasagna from the freezer, little square: 12?
Salad (spinach, 1/2 apple, sprinkle of dried cranberries, sprinkle of walnuts, carrot): 0+.5+1+3+0
Balsamic, light dressing, 2 Tbl: 1
Leftover cauliflower: 1
Corn, lima beans: 1

Snack
Hot cocoa: 8

I’m filling most of this the day after because of how hard it was to do anything but study yesterday. I think I need to keep the little paper journal with me so I can write stuff done and not rely on memory. Photos help but I don’t photograph everything.

Yesterday’s quiz in the class went horribly. I’m getting very frustrated with the amount of times this professor puts material on the quiz that isn’t covered in the class. I turned to my comfort: ice cream.

Not a snack…
Ice cream with chocolate syrup: 20?

Oh and I didn’t write down what I turned to the other night after the bad fight. That time it was Krispy Kreme chocolate glazed donuts. I just looked up how much that “retreat into comfort zone” cost and that was 30 points. Needless to say, I’m way over my WPA. Will my few (ok, a lot at the few times) transgressions mean a gain tomorrow?

Leave a Reply

