• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Visually taken....

    How to get to Amici's from the hotel

    My first food truck experience.

    Carmelized onion, eggplant, tofu and pasta

    Flowers!

    Free :) Take one

    Flowers!

    More Photos
  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Ye ol’ hump day food journal

Last night I suddenly got starving hungry around 11:30. “Well, Jessica, if you were in bed….” I know. So I had a Laughing Cow wedge since I’m fruitless. I’ll add that on to today.

My excuse is that I was so busy studying my computer science homework and taking a quiz — which I bombed unfortunately — that I lost track of time. And then, of course, I had to read the User’s Guide for my new toy. Weird thing? I’m thinking about sketching out some ideas for boxes so that I can make a shopping list. Either that or just copying Vigilant20.

I threw together one tonight from leftovers and what I had on hand. Photos tomorrow of my first Bento / Laptop Lunch!

Last night [1]

  • Laughing Cow, Light, 1 wedge: 1

Breakfast
Breakfast [2] [3]

  • Oatmeal, 1 cup: 2?
  • Splenda, cinnamon: 0
  • Diet Dew, 20 oz: 0
  • Multivitamin: 0
  • Water, 24 oz:0

Lunch
Lunch – 12:30ish [4] [7]

  • Fruit salad: 2?
    1/2 cup? raw spinach, mandarin orange, sprinkle of carrots, 1 cup? melon bits; no dressing and I didn’t miss it… the orange juice was plenty!
  • Yogurt, fat-free, 1 container: 2
    Amazing that this little container (6 oz) is 100 calories. Also amazing the list of ingredients is almost as tall as the container. Milk, High fructose corn syrup — no wonder 100 calories. Sigh.

Snack – 2ish [7] [14]

  • Cheddar cheese stick, Sargento, light: 2?
    I’d rather have Laughing Cow. That stuff is so good.
  • Water, 24 oz: 0
  • Die dew, can: 0
  • KitKat: 5
    I chose this over cake in the conference room. KitKat >>>> cake. See? Indulgence. But choosing what is ‘worth’ it. Y’know?

Snack – 4 [5] [19]

  • ::whisper::KitKat: 5

Dinner
Dinner – 7:45~ [9] [28]

  • a href=”http://www.recipezaar.com/3929″ target=”_new”>Oven Fried Chicken, 1 huge piece: 6
    I used some of that frozen cut-up chicken from last month’s .49/lb whole chicken sale. So, don’t laugh at the piece shapes. Ok, you can laugh. I did. Because I use so much chicken and because I love spice, I increase the flour to 3/4 cup and each spice gets upped to 1 teaspoon and the salt becomes 2 teaspoons. I spray the pan with some butter-flavored Pan since I was raised on butter-flavored Crisco as the oil of choice for fried chicken. Also, Recipezaar’s values come out to 4 points a piece but these are huge so I rounded.
  • Milk, 1 cup, skim: 2
  • Romaine lettuce, 1 cup~: 0
  • Greek dressing, light, 2 Tbl: 1
  • Carrot, 1: 0

Snack [8] [36]

  • Hot cocoa, 2 cups: 8

Total: 36

4 Responses

  1. Can’t wait to see the Laptop Lunch! Thanks for sharing the site – I’m going to look for it next time I go to Whole Foods 🙂

  2. Hi Jenn! It’s hard not to post all about it right now. I feel like a kid on her birthday. Ha 🙂 Last night, I even busted out my Vegan Lunchbox book that started me thinking about these boxes over a year ago.

  3. […] had no idea what I was going to put in it. I had Oven fried chicken but there’s no way the pieces would fit. I could take the meat off but the leftovers are too […]

  4. […] Leftover chicken, 1 breast: 5 […]

Leave a Reply

