• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Visually taken....

    How to get to Amici's from the hotel

    My first food truck experience.

    Carmelized onion, eggplant, tofu and pasta

    Flowers!

    Free :) Take one

    Flowers!

    More Photos
  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Thursday’s food journal and toy

Didn’t realize it but I did the laptop lunch entry in a different format. Not sure which is better.

Food Lion is giving away one free reusable shopping bag with two purchases of Food Lion brand cereal. I usually buy their Toasted Oats, so that was win-win for me! Normally, the bags cost 89c. The Food Lion cereal is on sale too. Don’t know for how long but I saw it for the first time today so maybe till next week?

My fear of using a reusable bag is that the cashiers would mutter obscenities. Nope. The opposite. She saw that I had it nestled in with my two boxes of cereal and asked if I wanted to use it today. I said, “Sure! If that’s ok.” She filled it up with the cold stuff. And it held a lot. It also has a long enough handle that I was able to shoulder it.

Wow. Mother Earth would be proud. I reduced my lunch waste today and I, for the first time, didn’t use a disposable plastic bag at the store!

Here’s what it looks like till I photograph it: photo/article. Not exciting but that’s fine with me!

That free bag saved me from using at least 3 plastic bags. Not bad! And it’ll save me 3 plastic bags next time I use it.

Did I mention I hate my USB card reader? I thought I’d try it again to save me turning the PC on. I guess it heard me talking badly about it because the photos went BLIP. Fine. Checked my USB ports with a thumb drive and that worked. So I dunno. Thankfully, I took pictures of the laptop lunch last night. Even if it was in crappy light and the lids were on, it’s still documented!

Breakfast
Previously taken and reused. [bad words]

Breakfast

  • Hot link, 1: 7
  • Potatoes, 1/2 c:
  • Dew, diet, 20 oz: 0
  • Multivitamin: 0

LL #1

Lunch [4.5]

Laptop Lunch #1
1 cup salad greens: 0.
1 cup Amy’s Vegetable Barley soup: 1.
2 Laughing Cow, light, wedges: 2.
1/16 cup (1 Tablespoon) Light Greek dressing: .5.
1 White House Natural Plus applesauce cup: 1.
1 Sugar-free Jello: 0.

Snack – 3pm

  • Kitkat: 5
  • Dew, Diet, 1 can: 0

Dinner – 8pm [6]

  • Cereal, 2 cups: 4
  • Milk, 1%, 1 cup: 2
Leave a Reply

