• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Visually taken....

    How to get to Amici's from the hotel

    My first food truck experience.

    Carmelized onion, eggplant, tofu and pasta

    Flowers!

    Free :) Take one

    Flowers!

    More Photos
  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Grilled salmon, smashed taters, and popeye weed

I got a big frozen salmon from the store. It had the skin on even. I have not grilled salmon before so gave it a whirl.

Salmon

And served it with some mashed potatoes and spinach. I didn’t want the spinach juice contaminating the salmon, so made a protective barrier.

Dinner

This was the first grilling of the season so I had to clean up the grill. I think this is maybe the fifth time I’ve used the grill in two years. After the fish was thawed, I put it on a pre-heated medium grill. Stuff I read said to grease the grill but I had no idea how to do that with a hot grill so used a soaked paper towel. I put it skin side down and cooked it with the grill top open for about 10 minutes. I sprayed the meat side with some spray, sprinkled salt and pepper, and flipped it. The skin made it very easy to flip and keep together. Cooked it for another 10 minutes.

It was cooked well. I like mine closer to medium. Not bad though. Next time, I’ll cook it for less time or maybe move it to the top shelf with the lid closed.

5 Responses

  1. Nom nom!

  2. I love grilled salmon. That way and smoked are my most favorite way to eat it. There’s a recipe I have somewhere for cooking salmon on a cedar plank that was quite the rage a couple years ago, but I haven’t tried it. It’s so cute the way you didn’t want the spinach juice to touch the salmon. I used to have to make sure everything on my daughter’s plate “didn’t touch”.

    Your lunches look wonderful, by the way. Good for you!

  3. When we grill salmon we grill it on a cedar plank. Yummy. Sometimes I marinate it for a few minutes. I also make a great Salmon Salad.

  4. @Tracey: Heh. Just think! You too can do this! If I can do it, anyone can 🙂

    @Ladybeams: Uhoh. You mean your daughter grew out of it? Well, there’s hope for me yet! Actually, not all things have to be separated… I have a very complicated list. Thank goodness I cook my own meals for the most part. I’d drive a parent insane! 😉 I’ve tried cedar plank salmon once… you and Joan have reminded me that I gotta try cooking it.

    @Joanharvest: That does sound great. I went on a Google spree after reading these comments and found that I can do the plank on a gas grill! I’m going to have to try it. I already found some sites that sell a variety pack of planks like cedar, oak, and more. Experimentation is fun!

  5. Hello there, I discovered your web site via Google at the same time as looking for a related subject, your web site got here up, it appears great. I have added to favourites|added to my bookmarks.

Leave a Reply

