• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    October 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Visually taken....

    How to get to Amici's from the hotel

    My first food truck experience.

    Carmelized onion, eggplant, tofu and pasta

    Flowers!

    Free :) Take one

    Flowers!

    More Photos
  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Lunch: Leftover Balsamic Chicken and Sweet Potato

No brainer to save money is to bring one’s own lunch. Also, I hear that it’s cheaper to cook than to buy. For example, instead of spending $3.50 on a frozen meal, it’s cheaper to fix the equivalent at home. Is it? I don’t know. I want to test the theory but not sure how. For example, I have been getting Lean Cuisine and Smart Ones on sale for cheap. The affect on the trash can is high though.

Here’s today’s lunch with a critique.
Lunch

  1. I nuked for too long. I’ve gotten used to nuking a frozen meal so the lunch was way too hot and the chicken was a little dried out.
  2. Herby smelly goodness is great at home but not so much at work. I heard more comments for this meal than the average Lean Cuisine one I have been eating. I appreciate the compliments but I know I have smells I don’t like — bell pepper — and apologize for filling the floor with rosemary, balsamic and oregano.
  3. There’s still quite a bit of landfill-incoming waste here. I used utensils, cloth towel, and reusable plastic container. Some day, the plastic container will go into the trash since we don’t recycle that here. The life of that is less than the cloth towel. The soda bottle will go into recycling. The plastic bag that the grapes are in will go to the trash today. How can I improve? Obviously, I can put the grapes in a reusable container, but is it another plastic one? Also, I hate microwaving in plastic. But the glass containers get so hot!
  4. Sweet potatoes > Chicken. The sweet potatoes were very filling and oh-so-nummy. Not bad for plain boiled sweet potato with a splash of milk and Brummel & Brown. And since the chicken breast was on sale for $1.99 but is usually much more and the sweet potato was on sale for .49c a pound but is usually maybe .79c…. Definitely, there’s a winner. Sweet potato! (Reminds me again about my promise to myself to become vegetarian again.)
Leave a Reply

