• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    October 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Visually taken....

  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Dinner: Balkan Eggplant Casserole

I saw Balkan Eggplant Casserole on A Veggie Venture and just had to make it! I have had such bad luck with eggplant but found some on sale last shopping spree.

Success! Not bitter! Not… nasty. It was good. And the only stuff I had to buy for the recipe was Parmesan cheese (3.99) and eggplant (1.55). Not bad.

Balkan Eggplant Casserole

I diced up a garlic clove and added it to a saucepan with some butter. Sauteed that and added a can of drained green beans. As that was heating, I chopped up an apple and tomato. Voi la. Dinner! Next time, I’m getting red apples. I have a bad habit of going mono-chromatic in my dishes.

Balkan Eggplant Casserole

4 Responses

  1. Hi Jessica, So glad that the eggplant worked out for you. Isn’t it amazing how something simple can turn out so well?!

  2. Alanna, Yes! I wish I had a quiche pan. I liked in your photo that you could really see the eggplant. Next time definitely. That recipe is now on the rotation 🙂 Thank you for posting it!

  3. Wow that really does look good, and I’m an eggplant freak. I’ll have to pass this on to my newly vegetarian daughter. Thanks for posting.

  4. Very welcome. Thank you for the comment. 🙂 Because it wasn’t bitter, I am feeling the urge to do more eggplant dishes! Mmmm! There’s so little waste.

Leave a Reply

