• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    October 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Visually taken....

  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Oatmeal versus Oatmeal

Breakfast

Instant oatmeal nuked in the microwave. Splenda and milk were added later.

Breakfast
Steel cut oats cooked the night before and stored in the fridge in a class bowl with foil on top. Cut the congealed mess in half inside the glass bowl and pull out the half-mass to a new bowl (above). Nuked for 1.5 minutes with a splash of water. Brummel & Brown, brown sugar, milk. Worth eating at home versus work? Maybe.

By the way, I always use just water to cook my oatmeal and not milk.

I was disappointed yesterday when I saw that I was out of regular oatmeal. That’s not too bad cooked in the microwave for a quick warm breakfast. But I tried the instant anyway. I think I’m done with it. It was like eating a sticky gloppy mess.

Yes, steel cut oatmeal may take longer than instant (or regular oatmeal in the microwave) but steel cut wins in taste and texture!

4 Responses

  1. I’ve been hearing a lot about steel cut oats from my frugal friends, but I haven’t gotten up the nerve to try them yet. I’ll have to look next time I’m at the co-op. I’m glad your comment brought me back here…I’m astonished by how many interests we have in common!

  2. Steel cut really is incredible. I was raised on regular oatmeal and will still keep it around for quick microwavable/stove-top meals — and cookies. I saw a good selection of steel cut oatmeal at Trader Joe’s. I guess that’s what is next for me — expansion. I wonder if there’s a difference in brands….. Hmmm…. šŸ™‚ Aw shucks! Yes, we do have quite a few things in common. šŸ™‚

  3. Steel cut is awesome. But getting thick-cut rolled oats (that’s what I use) is also a quick, easy, and inexpensive breakfast. Nuking them is cool, but just pouring boiling water on top and letting it sit yields a thick oatmeal that isn’t goopy.

  4. Thick-cut rolled oats? I don’t know if that’s what they have at the store but will check next time I’m there. I’ll have to give it a whirl! Thank you šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

