• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    November 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Visually taken....

    How to get to Amici's from the hotel

    My first food truck experience.

    Carmelized onion, eggplant, tofu and pasta

    Flowers!

    Free :) Take one

    Flowers!

    More Photos
  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Beans, beans, and more beans: Taco Soup

The last time I went into the pantry, I noticed 3 bags of beans. I dug around and found 3 more. On more digging, more were found. I know that dry beans don’t last forever so it would be a shame to waste the food. I enjoy Taco Soup so when I was making up the meal plan for this week, I figured I could make a vegetarian version easily with all those beans.

I cooked up 1/2 pound of each bean I had the night before. I learned that they all cooked together at the same time happily except this giant dried corn I had. I picked them all out. I froze the beans I didn’t use for the taco soup and froze some of the soup for future nomming.

Taco Soup to Be
Taco Soup to be

Taco Soup
Taco Soup to be … eaten
Taco soup
Since it was so late, I took it in to work for lunch. Perfect day for it. Look at that rain!


Taco Soup
Not exact measurements, of course. I don’t always use what follows. Some is because I had it on hand like the cilantro and leek.
various beans (black, pinto, kidney, great northern)
can of Rotel diced tomatoes with chiles
can of diced tomatoes
1/4 cup Ranch dressing mix
1/3 cup taco seasoning mix
fresh cilantro
1/2 onion, chopped
1 leek, chopped
oil
3 cloves garlic, minced

In a saucepan, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the garlic, onion, and leek. Stir till soft. Add beans, tomatoes, seasonings. Cook till of consistency you like. Add water, if needed. Add cilantro near the end.

4 Responses

  1. I like taco soup! Very delicious, especially if adding tortilla chips, shredded cheese, and sour cream to it once you put it in your bowl to eat.

    Plus, as a side benefit, I hear that beans are good for your heart… 🙂

  2. Haha. Yes, I have heard that too 😉

  3. […] recipe […]

Leave a Reply

