• Personally speaking….

    Just the thoughts and cookings of a software engineer that likes to make foodstuffs from time to time in the bay area of California.
  • Previously spoken….

    December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Visually taken....

    How to get to Amici's from the hotel

    My first food truck experience.

    Carmelized onion, eggplant, tofu and pasta

    Flowers!

    Free :) Take one

    Flowers!

    More Photos
  • Ajax CommentLuv Enabled e1971467377035ccb2b36d25665416b9

Cornmeal Scrapple

It’s vegan, I promise! It’s another recipe test of Urban Vegan’s upcoming cookbook so it is! The name though. Ick. But I was curious since I was never brave(?) enough to try real scrapple and I am in Virginia. I see scrapple in the local supermarkets often.

Easy Cornmeal Scrapple

Oh, the smell was outstanding! The taste was good and flavorful. Easy? Easy-ish. Very fun to make, which may sound odd. Made a lot though and I’ll be experimenting with freezing the leftover loaf.

Also, with all this recipe testing is me trying to find some of the ingredients. I went all the way to a health food store to pick up something and checked out their vegan cheese and fake meat section. Kroger won, interestingly enough. I like that since Kroger is closer.

3 Responses

  1. i’ve heard of scrapple, but never tried it. looking forward to the recipe.

    also, i do use soy (shoyu) and bragg’s interchangeably. i like the bragg’s when i want that soy flavour, but not too overpowering. also, i think bragg’s is a little saltier tasting, so sometimes i use a little less than i would soy.

    good luck and happy holidays!

  2. Thank you for the information. I ran across Bragg’s again a few days ago and was tempted. Next time then 🙂

  3. Hi, I was woundering if you can use chicken or some thing else, in stead of sausage,or pork, or liver? Can I leave the cornmeal out? Thank you, sandy

Leave a Reply

